Who Died and Made You Coffee Expert, Anyway?

Peat suggested that I tell y'all a little bit about why I care about coffee. Probably because he's tired of me raving on and on, with that little bit of white spittle in the corner of my mouth that never seems to quite go away. What can I say. Wide awake and alert here! Reporting for duty! Should probably be working on the app, shouldn't I!

Coffee has always been a passion of mine. I've taken part in nine different coffee businesses, from starting them up from scratch, to working at bigger names like Peet's and, of course, Stumptown Coffee Roasters here in Portland. While I never followed that career path long enough, or with enough dedication, to become a roaster, I was always quite interested in what roasters cared about. I've had more of a taste for coffee than wine, or at least more of a talent for tasting the stuff.

But I don't pretend to speak on too much authority. I know too many coffee experts for that. In fact, that's maybe a bit of what makes me a little humble about it. I've been involved with Stumptown since before its first shop opened in a burned-out ex-hair-salon called The Hair Bender. And many of the folks at Stumptown know more about coffee than anyone I've met. And if you know the people who run Stumptown, you know about the coffee industry, and how passionate an industry it is.

I've seen a number of sites dedicated to wine tasting. Wine tasting is something I've never been great at, as I mentioned, but I love tasting it and I love drinking it. Yet I could never find anywhere online to share coffee opinions. But the incredible design of Cork'd, launched a while ago, along with the impetus of Rails Day 2006, brought Peat and I together to whip out the web application I've wanted for years, but could never quite put together. So cheers to Peat, and all of Rails Day and its participants.

We hope you like our little app.

Published in: on June 17, 2006 at 11:31 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://cuppin.wordpress.com/2006/06/17/who-died-and-made-you-coffee-expert-anyway/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

